Limited Vision

Today’s Author Write Now! Prompt: Suddenly, he remembered why he had not been back to the old neighborhood for so many years.


“And it was such a stupid prompt. Ready?”

“Lay it on me.”

‘Suddenly, he remembered why he had not been back to the old neighborhood for so many years.'”

“Huh.”

“Right? I mean, we’re not talking about suddenly remembering why you don’t eat onions after 9 at night, you know? We’re talking about a place you lived, spent some time in, am I right?”

“Well, I–”

“Unless you go the sci-fi route, with the memories being covered up but they’re starting to come back, like in that Dollhouse show. But that’s pretty tired, these days.”

“But how about–”

“I don’t know. I mean, sometimes the prompts are fun–really let me crank out some words. But ones like this just aren’t worth my time. We’ll see. So what’s up with you?”

“Oh, I’ve been doing some freelance work for an educational company. They’ve got me writing prompts for some of their classes, and also grading the papers.”

This entry was posted in Writing prompts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Limited Vision

  1. Rob Diaz says:

    So… did the freelancer write that prompt? The next part of this conversation could be awkward and hilarious!

  2. Pat F. says:

    Yes indeed, the freelancer wrote the prompt. I need do to be clearer about that–thanks for the feedback!

Your thoughts?

